Réflexions sur une carrière jusqu'à présent...

Cette semaine, je célèbre vingt-cinq ans chez RBC Dominion valeurs mobilières et trente-huit ans dans le secteur des services financiers. Bien que je ne sois normalement pas du genre à faire grand cas des jalons pour une raison quelconque, je suis particulièrement fier de cet accomplissement et de ma carrière jusqu'à présent…

Il y a trente-huit ans, je me souviens avoir déjeuné avec mon défunt père où il a essayé de me convaincre de rejoindre sa nouvelle société de courtage d'assurance-vie. J'avais récemment obtenu mon diplôme de l'Université McGill et, à l'époque, je vendais de la publicité affichée pour un hebdomadaire appelé The Downtowner. Je pouvais voir que ma "carrière" dans la vente de publicité n'allait pas rapporter beaucoup d'argent et que l'entreprise de mon père semblait en fait avoir un grand potentiel. Être dans le secteur de l'assurance-vie était probablement le dernier endroit où je m'attendais à me retrouver et travailler avec mon père, avec qui j'avais une relation tendue, me semblait encore plus éloigné mais j'ai reconnu une opportunité à long terme et je l'ai saisie !

Nous étions une petite entreprise installée dans un immeuble résidentiel que mon père possédait sur la rue Baile dans le village Shaughnessy (à l'ombre des Sœurs Grises sur St. Mathieu en dessous de St. Catherine). Alors que l'entreprise était décente et que nous l'avons construite pour en faire une meilleure, je pouvais voir que mes intérêts à plus long terme résidaient dans la gestion des investissements plutôt que dans les ventes d'assurance-vie. À ce stade, j'étais maintenant marié et nous avions une fille (avec un fils en route) et j'avais besoin d'un avenir plus sûr. J'ai décidé que les meilleures perspectives résidaient dans les « grandes ligues » et j'ai commencé à faire le tour des plus grandes sociétés de courtage. À cette époque, j'avais acquis à la fois mon permis d'assurance-vie et mon permis de valeurs mobilières, donc j'étais tout à fait négociable.

J'ai atterri chez RBC Dominion valeurs mobilières car j'ai été très impressionné par leur gestion honnête et travailleuse (qui continue à ce jour) ainsi que leur infrastructure de gestion de patrimoine qui allait me permettre de continuer à pratiquer mon approche holistique de la gérance financière en combinant mon expertise en assurance-vie et en stratégies d'investissement. Vingt-cinq ans plus tard, je me retrouve toujours dans l'entreprise et je continue de grandir et d'apprendre chaque jour !

Tout au long de cette période, j'ai survécu à plusieurs catastrophes et événements du marché : les taux d'intérêt élevés des années 1980 (lorsque j'ai commencé, les taux des CPG se situaient entre 12 et 14 %) ; le krach de 1987 ; le référendum québécois de 1995 qui a déstabilisé les obligations et la devise canadienne; la bulle Dot Com de 2000 qui a conduit à l'effondrement soudain d'un grand nombre d'entreprises technologiques ; la crise financière mondiale de 2008 qui a mis tout le système financier au bord de l'effondrement ; et maintenant, plus récemment, la pandémie mondiale de 2020-2021. Dans chaque situation, je me suis remarquablement relevé du sol, je me suis dépoussiéré et j'ai continué pour voir un autre jour.

Donc, aujourd'hui, je me retrouve à réfléchir au cours de ces années avec une grande gratitude pour une industrie qui m'a permis de prospérer et de mener une carrière des plus satisfaisantes.

Je tiens à remercier tous ces clients qui m'ont accompagné tout au long de cette période, tous mes associés et assistants qui ont su gérer l'aspect administratif exigeant de l'entreprise, toute l'équipe de direction qui m'a offert de formidables opportunités l'année et année après année, mes amis et collègues de l'industrie avec lesquels j'ai développé des relations étroites, et ma famille et mes amis qui m'ont soutenu d'une manière ou d'une autre tout au long du processus.

Cependant, s'il vous plaît, ne considérez pas ce soliloque comme mon chant du cygne car je n'ai pas l'intention d'aller nulle part et j'attends avec impatience un voyage continu sur ce chemin rencontrer de nouveaux amis, de nouveaux clients, servir mes clients actuels et continuer à mener une vie dynamique et vivifiante. carrière aussi longtemps que je le pourrai.

Merci de votre attention. Je suis vraiment reconnaissant.

John Archer, 18 mars 2021.

25 ans à aider les clients à atteindre leurs objectifs financiers avec une approche holistique de la gestion de patrimoine.

Recent Blog Posts

three generations of male family playing chess together

Quand dois-je songer à un bureau de gestion de patrimoine familial ?

nov. 29, 2021 | RBC Gestion de patrimoine

À une époque où il n’a jamais été aussi important pour les familles de trouver des moyens de bien bâtir et maintenir leur patrimoine, les services d’un bureau familial peuvent s’avérer utiles.

Lire la suite
global insights weekly

Pourquoi l’inflation ne fait-elle pas broncher le marché boursier américain ?

nov. 12, 2021 | Kelly Bogdanova

Malgré l’augmentation continue de l’inflation, le marché boursier américain se montre généralement indifférent. Nous énumérons les facteurs susceptibles de rendre l’inflation problématique pour le marché.

Lire la suite
stock exchange market screen

La Fed réduit ses achats d’actifs. Quelles seront les répercussions sur la dynamique du marché ?

nov. 05, 2021 | Thomas Garretson, CFA

On l’attendait depuis longtemps : la réduction des achats d’actifs a été annoncée. Les perspectives de la Fed comportent toutefois de nombreux éléments à prendre en considération et nous répondons à trois questions pressantes.

Lire la suite

Gestion de patrimoine Archer vous souhaite la bienvenue

« La gestion de patrimoine pour vos besoins complexes »

GESTION DE PATRIMOINE ARCHER offre une gestion discrétionnaire des placements et des solutions intégrées de gestion de patrimoine de premier ordre. Nous donnons de précieux conseils pour aider les clients à réussir sur le plan financier et à atteindre leurs objectifs de vie.

Grâce à la gestion discrétionnaire de placements , votre portefeuille est géré selon les normes les plus élevées et des directives rigoureuses de gestion de placements. Vous profitez ainsi de la liberté de vivre selon vos désirs.

Les solutions intégrées de gestion de patrimoine vont au-delà des conseils de placement et de la gestion de fonds. Il s’agit d’un processus continu qui permet de vous guider, vous et votre famille, à chaque étape importante de la vie :

La planification des besoins d’assurance, qui est l’une des façons les plus importantes de protéger votre famille
• Assurance vie
• Fonds distincts et programmes assortis d’une garantie de retrait minimum (GRM)

La planification de la retraite, qui vous assure un avenir sans tracas
• Régime enregistré d’épargne-retraite (REER)
• Fonds enregistré de revenu de retraite (FERR)
• Fonds de revenu viager (FRV)
• Comptes de retraite immobilisés (CRI)
• Prévisions de revenu de retraite
• Autres régimes enregistrés de retraite

La planification successorale est le moyen de laisser un bon souvenir et de léguer aux personnes ou aux causes qui vous sont chères un héritage qui répond à vos désirs.
• Dons de bienfaisance et planification de dons
• Planification successorale
• Solutions de planification successorale aux États-Unis
• Création d’un legs
• Conseils de fiducie

L’expérience, les qualifications et l’expertise de notre équipe permettent d’offrir aux clients ayant des besoins complexes en gestion de patrimoine de judicieux conseils et une tranquillité d’esprit hors pair.

Reflections upon a career thus far...

This week I celebrate twenty-five years at RBC Dominion Securities and thirty-eight years in the financial services industry. While I am not normally one who makes a big deal out of milestones for some reason I am particularly proud of this accomplishment and my career thus far…

I recall some thirty-eight years ago having lunch with my late father where he tried to convince me to join his fledging life insurance brokerage firm. I had recently graduated from McGill University and was, at the time, selling display advertising for a weekly newspaper called The Downtowner. I could see that my “career” in advertising sales was not going to be huge money-maker and that my father’s business actually seemed to have some great potential. Being in the life insurance industry was probably the last place I expected to find myself and working with my father, with whom I had a fraught relationship, seemed even more remote but I recognized a long-term opportunity and I seized it!

We were a tiny business set up in a residential building that my father owned on Baile St. in the Shaughnessy Village (in the shadow of the Grey Nuns on St. Mathieu below St. Catherine). While the business was a decent one and we did build it into a better one, I could see my longer -term interests lay in the management of investments over life insurance sales. At this point, I was now married and we had a daughter (with a son on his way) and I was in need of a more secure future. I decided that brighter prospects lay in the “ big leagues” and I started making the rounds of the larger brokerage firms. At this time, I had acquired both my life insurance licence and my securities license so I was quite marketable.

I landed up at RBC Dominion Securities as I was most impressed with their honest and hard working management (which continues to this day) as well as their wealth management infrastructure which was going to allow me to continue practicing my holistic approach to financial stewardship by blending my expertise in both life insurance and investment strategies. Twenty-five years later I still find myself with the firm and still growing and learning with every single day!

Throughout this period I have survived through several market calamities and events: high interest rates of the 1980’s (when I started GIC rates were in the 12-14% range); the Crash of 1987; the Quebec referendum of 1995 which destabilized bonds and the Canadian currency; the Dot Com bubble of 2000 which lead to the sudden collapse of a vast number of technology firms; the 2008 Global Financial Crisis which had the entire financial system teetering on the edge of collapse; and now, most recently, the global pandemic of 2020-2021. In each situation, I have remarkably picked myself up off the ground, dusted myself off and carried on to see another day.

So, today, I find myself reflecting over these years with great gratitude for an industry that has allowed me to thrive and lead a most satisfying career.

I would like to thank all those clients who have prevailed with me throughout this time, all of my associates and assistants who have been able to manage the demanding administration side of the business, all of the management team who have offered me tremendous opportunities year in and year out, my friends and colleagues within the industry with whom I have developed some close relationships, and my family and friends who supported me one way or another along the way.

However, please do not consider this soliloquy as my swan song as I have no plans of going anywhere and I look forward to a continued journey along this path meeting new friends, new clients, serving my current clients and continuing to lead a vibrant and invigorating career as long as I am able.

Thank you for listening. I am truly grateful.

John Archer, March 18, 2021.

Client Testimonials

"Dear John,

We have thoroughly enjoyed working with you for 25 years now. In that time we have been through many business cycles, during which you have provided solid research and thoughtful advice. While we did not follow the ‘traditional’ retirement planning and portfolio approach, we have been happy with the steady growth and income streams in our portfolios.

Sincerely,"

C. H., retired. Montreal.

 

"Dear John,

Many thanks for your assistance in guiding me through my difficult retirement income options and your stewardship of my portfolios as I approach my retirement.

I have appreciated your “outside the box thinking“ and steady hand over these last twenty-three years of our relationship."

D. K., Managing Director, Montreal.

 

"Dear John and Mauricio,

I have just been looking at the portfolio. I have to congratulate you on recovering all the lost ground that we had during the initial phases of COVID. You really do a sterling job!

Best regards."

I. B., retired, New Zealand.

 

"Dear John,

Stellar performance lately...great work!!”

Matthew Mather, bestselling author (CyberStorm, DarkNet and Nomad), Montreal.

 

Who Can the Archer Team Help?

Our services are suited for individuals, families, businesses and organizations seeking a higher level of personal service and assistance managing significant investment assets.

  • Executives looking to grow their wealth
  • Professionals requiring assistance with their personal assets and partnership concerns
  • Business owners needing help managing their personal and business assets
  • Pre-retirees wanting to maximize savings as they approach retirement
  • Retirees requiring innovative strategies to make the most of their after-tax retirement income, while protecting their financial security
  • Well-established families seeking professional guidance transferring wealth to the next generation in a tax-efficient manner
  • Individuals and families wishing to support charitable causes through planned giving and legacy planning strategies

25 years helping clients to reach their financial goals with a holistic approach to wealth management.

Recent Blog Posts

housing prices going up and down in page

Canadian housing markets take a slight dip but remain strong

May 11, 2021 | Robert Hogue

Inventories generally remain low, leaving few options for buyers to fight over and fueling widespread bidding wars.

Read more
3-rendering-hydrogen-renewable-energy-and-wind-turbines-in-page

Five things investors should know about hydrogen’s global potential

May 11, 2021 | Kelly Bogdanova

The lightest of elements may turn out to be a heavyweight in the transition to clean energy. We examine hydrogen’s opportunities for various industries.

Read more
woman-looking-out-of-a-skyscraper-window-deep-in-thought-in-page

Should equity investors be optimistic in 2021?

May 07, 2021 | Kelly Bogdanova

Equity markets have responded tamely to strong corporate earnings and GDP growth estimates. But investors shouldn’t overlook the bigger trends afoot.

Read more

Wealth management for your sophisticated needs

ARCHER WEALTH MANAGEMENT offers a premier level of discretionary investment management and integrated wealth management solutions. We provide valuable guidance to help clients achieve financial success and fulfill life goals

John Archer is part of a selected group of Portfolio Managers at RBC Dominion Securities who are licensed to provide this level of discretionary investment management after meeting rigorous industry-wide qualifications for education, reaching a substantial level of assets under management and extensive investment experience. This ensures that your portfolio is managed according to the highest standards and robust investment management guidelines, giving you the freedom to live the life you want.