Professional and Ethical Standards

What is the CFA designation?

The CFA designation demonstrates professional achievement. To earn the CFA charter, investment professionals must have at least three years of acceptable professional experience in the investment decision-making process. In addition, candidates must pass three sequential, six-hour examinations over at least three years and must commit to abide by and annually reaffirm their adherence to the CFA Institute Code of Ethics and Standards of Professional Conduct.

CFA charterholders keep up with the ever-changing global investment industry through their membership with CFA Institute. CFA Institute seminars, workshops, publications, and research equip charterholders with the advanced knowledge necessary for continued professional growth.


Why choose a CFA charterholder as your investment manager?

No credential is as widely regarded in the global financial industry for its rigorous focus on current investment knowledge, analytical skill, and ethical standards as the Chartered Financial Analyst (CFA) designation. Simply put, the CFA designation matters to your money. Your portfolio manager has access to the most personal details of your finances, and the trust you place in your portfolio manager must be unconditional. Although financial professionals may hold other professional designations, no other designation within the profession of investment management carries as much integrity as the CFA charter.

The fact is the CFA charter is awarded only to a very select group of investment specialists who have mastered a rigorous curriculum covering a broad range of investment-related subjects. CFA Charterholders have professional experience applying this knowledge to the investment decision-making process. And CFA charterholders are held to the highest ethical standards. The CFA designation symbolizes the knowledge, professionalism, and integrity you should demand from anyone you trust with your finances.


What is the CFA Program?

The CFA program is a graduate-level curriculum and examination program for investment professionals - especially money managers, investment counselors and securities analysts. Established in 1962, the CFA program sets the global standard for investment knowledge, standards and ethics. It tells clients, employers and colleagues that the charterholder has mastered a rigorous curriculum covering a broad range of investment topics and is committed to the highest ethical standards in the profession.

The CFA designation represents broad investment knowledge. The curriculum of the CFA Program compels investment professionals to build a working knowledge of investment principles across core areas of the industry − from portfolio management and asset valuation to derivatives and quantitative analysis. To earn the right to use the CFA designation, candidates must pass three levels of examination, which requires hundreds of hours of study over at least three years. Successful completion of the CFA Program is a formidable challenge for even the most experienced investment professional.


What is IIROC?

The Investment Industry Regulartory Organization of Canada is the national self-regulatory organization which oversees all investment dealers and trading activity on debt and equity marketplaces in Canada. Created in 2008 through the consolidation of the Investment Dealers Association of Canada and Market Regulation Services Inc., IIROC sets high quality regulatory and investment industry standards, protects investors and strengthens market integrity while maintaining efficient and competitive capital markets. IIROC carries out its regulatory responsibilities through setting and enforcing rules regarding the proficiency, business and financial conduct of dealer firms and their registered employees and through setting and enforcing market integrity rules regarding trading activity on Canadian equity marketplaces.